Liberal Party elects new Prime Minister

What policy direction will the party go in?

Liberal Party elects new Prime Minister

The Liberal Party has elected Scott Morrison to replace Malcolm Turnbull as the new Prime Minister of Australia after he won a leadership spill.

The 50-year-old beat contenders Peter Dutton and Julie Bishop to become the 30th Prime Minister of Australia. After Bishop was knocked out in the first round, Morrison beat Dutton 45 votes to 40.

Turnbull told media on Thursday that he would call a Liberal Party room meeting and resign as PM if a circulating petition received the necessary 43 signatures.

Morrison has previously served as Treasurer (2015-present), Minister for Social Services (2014-15) and Minister for Immigration (2013-14).

Moreover, Jobs and Innovation Minister Michaelia Cash tendered her resignation on Thursday morning after finding that Turnbull no longer had the confidence of the party room.

At this point, it is not clear what policy direction Morrison will take the party in, particularly in relation to jobs, innovation and IR.

Morrison holds the safe seat of Cook in southern Sydney with a margin of 15.4%.

Josh Frydenberg was also elected as Deputy Leader.


Free newsletter

Our daily newsletter is FREE and keeps you up-to-date with the world of HR. Please complete the form below and click on subscribe for daily newsletters from HRD Australia.

Recent articles & video

IBM think they can predict your employees’ departure. Eight things you should do next

How to offer a stellar employee recognition program

Five biggest drivers of workplace stress – and how to fight them

Robots at work will give rise to ‘super jobs’

Most Read Articles

How to handle a toxic boss

Is your organization making this killer diversity mistake?

Amazon CEO challenges rivals to match their employee benefits