HR Awards finalists revealed!

by HCA16 Jul 2013

This years’ Australian HR Awards has kicked off with a bang, receiving record numbers of nominations from some of the country’s largest and most innovative companies. The high calibre of entries received this year has resulted in a very impressive list of finalists (see below). The quality and quantity of entries means just to be named a finalist is a huge achievement.

Below are the finalists for what is looking to be the biggest Australian HR Awards yet. We can’t wait for the ceremony!

Australian HR Champion (CEO)

  • Jon Linehan, CEO of Defence Bank Limited
  • Gary Mitchell, vice president Australia of DePuy Synthes
  • Chris Beer, CEO Asia of Luxottica
  • Rosemary Vilgan, CEO of QSuper
  • Simon Gipson, head of school at St Michael’s Grammar School
  • Scott Charlton, CEO of Transurban

Australian HR Director of the Year

  • Vijay Kashyap, HR director at Campari Australia
  • Neil Baker, director – people & culture at Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers
  • Susan Henry, head of people & culture at Starlight Foundation
  • Emma Hogan, director – people & culture at Foxtel
  • Bob Hogarth, general manager HR at Heritage Bank
  • Simone Carroll, general manager HR at REA Group
  • Mel Tunbridge, HR director at SBS
  • Helen O’Reilly, chief HR officer at Teachers Mutual Bank

Australian HR Manager of the Year

  • Paula La Rocca, HR manager at Canterbury Hurlstone Park RSL Club
  • Hayley Hubbard, group HR manager at FK Gardner
  • Samantha Clark, HR director – OPSM, Luxottica
  • Maree Morgan-Monk, HR manager at Peoplecare Health Insurance
  • Lorraine Smith, senior HR manager at Raytheon Australia
  • Cheryl Rae, organisation & talent development at Woolworths Limited


Australian HR Rising Star of the Year

  • Alexandra Vargas Reyes, HR advisor NSW at DB Schenker Australia Pty Ltd
  • Alice Moginie, HR associate at Merck Sharp & Dohme (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • Nikki McBride, senior HR advisor at Raytheon Australia
  • Elizabeth Hales, HR advisor at Rio Tinto


Australian HR Team of the Year

  • BASF Australia Ltd
  • Credit Union Australia
  • Heritage Bank
  • Lexis Nexis
  • NSW Ambulance
  • QBE
  • QSuper


Best Change Management Strategy

  • Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers
  • City of Sydney
  • Club Assist
  • Foxtel
  • Merck Sharp & Dohme (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • Optus
  • PepsiCo ANZ


Best CSR Strategy

  • Aegis
  • ING Direct
  • Luxottica
  • Singtel Optus


Best Employee Value Proposition

  • AMP Horizons
  • Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu
  • Heritage Bank
  • Lexis Nexis
  • Medibank Health Solutions
  • Merck Sharp & Dohme (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • Perpetual


Best Employer Branding

  • Aurecon
  • Cover More
  • Inchcape
  • Medibank Health Solutions
  • Sodexo
  • Unilever


Best Health and Wellbeing Strategy

  • Bupa
  • Connect East
  • Glen Eira City Council
  • Johnson & Johnson Family of Companies
  • QT Mutual Bank
  • St Michael’s Grammar School
  • Trilby Misso Lawyers


Best HR Strategic Plan

  • Aegis
  • Coca-Cola Amatil
  • Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers
  • GenesisCare
  • QBE
  • QSuper


Best Learning & Development Strategy

  • All Purpose Transport
  • AMP Horizons
  • Aurecon
  • Clayton Utz
  • Peoplebank Australia Limited
  • The Coffee Club Group
  • TNT Express
  • Woolworths Limited


Best Recruitment Strategy

  • Aegis
  • Atlassian
  • Coleman Brands Pty Ltd
  • Compass Group
  • Hamilton Island
  • Jeanswest
  • Medibank Health Solutions


Best Reward & Recognition Strategy

  • British American Tobacco Australasia
  • Credit Union Australia
  • Faiveley Transport Australia Ltd
  • Greater Building Society
  • Jeanswest
  • Peoplebank Australia Limited
  • Telstra


Best Use of Technology

  • Atlassian
  • City of Greater Geelong
  • Defence Bank
  • Rio Tinto
  • Staging Connections
  • Woolworths Limited


Best Workplace Diversity Strategy

  • AON
  • Arup
  • Big W
  • Curtin University
  • Dreamtime PR
  • Kellogg (Aust.) Pty Ltd
  • PepsiCo ANZ
  • Suncorp Group


Employee of Choice (<1000)

  • Atlassian
  • Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers
  • Ecetera
  • McAfee
  • Merck Sharp & Dohme (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • MRWED Training & Assessment
  • Trilby Misso Lawyers


Employee of Choice (>1000)

  • Alexander Mann Solutions
  • Coca-Cola Amatil
  • GHD
  • Jeanswest
  • PepsiCo ANZ


Employee of Choice (public sector & NFP)

  • ABC
  • Australia Post
  • Epworth HealthCare
  • Family Planning Victoria
  • Glen Eira City Council
  • Port Stephens Council


  • by Stacey Siegert 17/07/2013 9:54:12 AM

    When are the awards open for next year?

  • by Sandra 17/07/2013 10:43:44 AM

    Thank you for letting us part take in one of Australia's most prestige HR awards. Fingers crossed as Best Employer Branding....Unilever!

Most Read