Human Capital forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Single workers ignored in work-life balance equation

Notify me of new replies via email
HC Online | 07 Mar 2013, 12:00 AM Agree 0
Wanted: A life outside the workplace. Do your workplace flexibility policies tend to leave single workers out of the equation?
  • Wanda | 07 Mar 2013, 03:42 PM Agree 0
    Well finally! I'm an HR professional in my late 20's with a partner and no kids and am always frustrated that these types of policies are slanted towards parents.

Having children shouldn't make anyone more entitled than someone who has chosen not to have kids.

And don't even get me started on Labor's "family this" and "family that" bonuses!!!!!!!! :)
  • Janet | 07 Mar 2013, 04:04 PM Agree 0
    Wanda - every time I hear Julia or a Labor MP talk about 'working families' I think 'what about working single people' (of which there are many, with very few perks).
  • Helen | 07 Mar 2013, 04:15 PM Agree 0
    It's funny - I was just talking to a colleague about this yesterday. Both of us have partners - but no kids. And we are always required to put in a full 8 hour day, while working parents get to run off for this and that all the time. It's discrimination - but oh so very politically incorrect to say it. Thank goodness someone is brave enough to give the issue some airplay. Thanks HCF!
  • Judy Higgins | 07 Mar 2013, 04:21 PM Agree 0
    The policy should be called work/life balance not work/family balance and should also be incorporated to assist singles.
    People with kids do find it more difficult to find that balance due to the extra responsibilities and the extra work involved e.g. sick kids, washing, feeding them, etc and that can't be disputed. I get sick to death of people with no kids whinging and whining about people with kids and the so called extra's they get. Amazing how they change their minds when they have the kids.