Human Capital forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Sickies: a century-old problem in Public Service

Notify me of new replies via email
HC Online | 13 Jan 2015, 08:12 AM Agree 0
Documents from the early twentieth century have revealed that employees of the Australian Public Service have been taking advantage of their sick leave for almost as long as the service has existed.
  • Dr Arthur Shacklock | 13 Jan 2015, 01:25 PM Agree 0
    This is an interesting article, but it says more about the author's bias than it does about the problem itself. There is a clear public-service bashing objective here. In my first career, I worked in the public sector in Australia, both federal and state, mostly in HRM, for over 30 years. I can tell you that, in all that time and in a wide variety of agencies, this was not a major problem. In fact most public sector people were, and are, very dedicated and work very hard, many often putting in long hours too. If anything they had to be told to stay home when sick, so as not to infect their work colleagues. This work pressure has been exacerbated by the endless cutting of public sector budgets by successive governments of both political persuasions, over the past 20 or so years.
    The other thing this article implies is that the inappropriate use of sick leave is a purely public sector anomaly and that such malingering by a small minority does not occur in other sectors, e.g. the private sector. Having also been an HRM consultant for a lot of private firms in Australia and overseas, I can tell you that malingering behaviour is by no means limited to the public sector.
    I think the article does an injustice to the vast majority of public sector employees who do their jobs well and are dedicated to their work. This has been despite their being constantly maligned by people who are uninformed and despite their being required to do more with less on an ongoing basis.