Human Capital forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Could Work Choices make a comeback?

Notify me of new replies via email
HC Online | 03 Sep 2013, 12:00 AM Agree 0
As the election enters its final days, new information has raised concerns that the Coalition may harken back to The Howard Government’s Work Choices – is this legitimate concern, or unfounded fear?
  • GWH Lohrey | 03 Sep 2013, 02:50 PM Agree 0
    Highly likely.
  • Nicole | 03 Sep 2013, 03:05 PM Agree 0
    I think this article is inappropriate and HC should be more apolitical or report on the facts of both parties policies.
  • Cameron | 03 Sep 2013, 03:17 PM Agree 0
    Hi Nicole, thank you for your feedback. As a journalist, I agree that to push one's political position in their stories is poor practice. The media - even niche publications such as ours - has a responsibility to avoid the "non-reporting" that can lead to misinformed and confused voters. Our readers trust us to report on facts so they can make informed decisions, and I work everyday to ensure I honour that to the best of my abilities.

As such, in my reporting on this election I had tried to maintain as neutral as possible. I am in no way stating that Work Choices will return, I am simply reporting on a number of comments made surrounding it. Whether or not I agree with these comments is not something I will disclose as a professional journalist, I simply feel that the conversation surrounding such a pivotal element of workplace and IR policy in Australia should be reported to the readers of HC.

I also demonstrated in the article that Mr Abbott has indicated Work Choices will not return - a statement that is important to keep in mind whenever approaching this topic.

Additionally, HC has outlined major stances from all three parties. See the link within the article for more information.
  • Marc | 03 Sep 2013, 05:04 PM Agree 0