Human Capital forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

ANZ abandons bell curve rankings

Notify me of new replies via email
HC Online | 09 May 2013, 12:00 AM Agree 0
National bank ANZ has axed the common practice of ranking staff on a bell curve when it comes to performance reviews – here’s why.
  • Dr Tim Baker | 09 May 2013, 03:35 PM Agree 0
    At long last the corporate world is understanding the futility of the ratings system in appraisals. This will put the focus on development and away from evaluation.
  • Julie Cork | 09 May 2013, 04:03 PM Agree 0
    Congratulations ANZ. There has been research around for a long time that supports this move. Ranking schemes like this have been shown to be de-motivators.
  • Dr Arthur Shacklock | 09 May 2013, 04:25 PM Agree 0
    This is hardly new ! I have been consulting and teaching in this area for over 40 years and was a manager myself for 30 of those years. We never ranked anyone against some artificially contrived curve. It is nonsense and in fact you do not need a rating scale either. it has always really been about individual performance against mutually agreed individual goals. Unless, of course, you are dealing with team appraisal which is a different story, but still no artificial curve !! So the ANZ Bank is simply catching up with the 1970s !!
  • Tony Griffiths | 09 May 2013, 04:37 PM Agree 0
    It is a bit of a misnomer to say “The days of the performance review are well and truly numbered”. We will always be trying to measure efficacy in the workplace and a review or look back at performances is how we will measure individuals. The change in this article is all about the maths.
    We do however need to see a focus on development and future behaviour.
  • Glenn Martin | 09 May 2013, 04:41 PM Agree 0