Human Capital forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

49% of pregnant women experience workplace discrimination

Notify me of new replies via email
HC Online | 14 Apr 2014, 11:18 AM Agree 0
Shelved promotions and scaled-back roles are just some of the challenges pregnant women routinely face in the workforce – and HR professionals are not immune to discrimination.
  • Hedi | 14 Apr 2014, 12:36 PM Agree 0
    As a HR professional I never thought that this could happen to me either. I have a great Manager but even I got "restructured" into a different role while on maternity leave with more hours per week that I can't do because of my daycare arrangements. The only other thing on offer is piecemeal casual work with no security or regularlty of hours. With two kids, how is that evena choice? Even with the best of intentions some Managers don't realise the impact of their actions for pregnant women or those returning from maternity leave. I really resent those people who say that mothers made the choice to have children, etc, etc. That's true but if women stop having babies whose taxes will pay for your healthcare and pensions as you age?
  • caca | 14 Apr 2014, 12:38 PM Agree 0
    Something to remember is a year is a long time to be away from a business. If those keeping in touch days aren't used then naturally the business may have changed substantially while the person was on parental leave.
    In almost every instance I've seen that the parent has held out for 2 years without much contact and then either chooses to not return or wants to come back part-time. The problem is part-time for our type of business just doesn't work well and inevitably someone else will have additional duties (and in all of these cases has felt that because they do not have family responsibilities that they are actually being discriminated against).